Tags

, , , , ,

My high school friends probably remember a house party I organized, to which I didn’t go. My mom and I had a bad conversation that night and she just decided that I couldn’t go.

You can guess the teasing the following day, and dayssss.

Then I told my mom, “Please don’t do that again. It shrunk my self esteem.”

Honestly, at that time, I was scared of what her reaction would be. But I knew I had to do it. I had to assert my teenage freedom. And what’s her reaction? Blank stare, none. And before she could say anything and dilute the message, I walked to my room, chin up.

Kids, adults don’t know everything. It’s parents’ first time to parent something like you, unless you’re totally like your older siblings. In which case, they’re sticking to the old formula so you can be like your perfect older sibling; or they’re following a new parenting guide to come up with a better product. But hey! It’s you. You’re not a guinea pig so stop hoping that maybe you’d turn into the kind of child they’re dreaming of.

Adults are just pretending they know everything so we’d fall into believing them. that’s just the great thing with my mom, she never did. At that blank-stare moment, she probably learned something too. She’d tell me when she’s scared and uncomfortable about my decisions, and when she doesn’t consent. At that point, it should be completely my responsibility. She encouraged me to think and to act as I believe. 

Sure there are consequences to unguided actions, but isn’t life like that almost all the time? Show me a person who says she knows everything she’s doing, and please never listen to her again.

Don’t wait until you’re 30 to assert teenage freedom, but sure, you still can.

